New 2011 Law for Minors and any Detectable Amount of Alcohol while operating a car?

 The 2011 legislature changed Utah Code 53-3-231.  If the driver is found to have any detectable amount of alcohol in the system while operating a vehicle and is 19 to 21 years old, the Driver License Division can deny the person’s license not less than 6 months for a first offense.

If it is a second offense, the driver will be denied a license until age 21 or 2 years, whichever is longer.

If the driver is under 19 years old, the Driver License Division will deny the license not less than one year for a first offense, and until 21 or two years, whichever is longer, for a second offense.

Before reinstatement or obtaining a license after this type of suspension, the Driver is required to take an approved substance abuse program.

Advertisements
Tagged with:
Posted in Utah DUI Laws
One comment on “New 2011 Law for Minors and any Detectable Amount of Alcohol while operating a car?
  1. jessie says:

    is there anyway to shorten a license suspension if you were under 19 the time of the dui?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Posts
%d bloggers like this: