Tag: Utah DUI Laws

  • Driver License Suspensions for Minors who get a DUI in Utah

     I was presenting to UACDL attorneys on Drivers License Suspensions.  An area that became real confusing is the area of minors who get a DUI.  The reason this gets so confusing is because there are administrative based suspensions and then there are conviction based suspensions. Utah code 53-3-223 (7)(a)(ii)  provides that a person under 21 […]

  • When can the Prosecution Appeal a Ruling in a Utah DUI case?

     Under the Utah Code, a prosecutor can appeal decisions from a Justice Court Judge to the District Court under certain circumstances.  Utah Code 78A-7-118 states:… (5) The prosecutor is entitled to a hearing de novo in the district court on: (a) a final judgment of dismissal; (b) an order arresting judgment; (c) an order terminating […]

  • Utah DUI and Concealed Weapons Permit

    Many people do not understand the hidden consequences of a DUI.  One such hidden consequence is the denial of obtaining a concealed weapons permit.  If a citizen already has a weapons permit, it will be revoked.  In fact, the code says you cannot have a permit or your permit can be revoked or suspended if […]

  • Can an officer Breath Test me for no reason?

     An officer pulls you over for speeding.  He asks for your license, insurance, and registration.  He goes back to his car and discovers, after a computer check, the license is flagged as an "alcohol restricted driver" because you have a prior DUI or alcohol violation.  The officer has no reason to believe that you have […]

  • Utah Alcohol Restricted Driver

    A person who is convicted of being in violation of the alcohol restricted driver law will have their license revoked for a period of one year.  This is in accordance with Utah Code 53-3-220(1)(a)(xv).  If you are convicted of this law under Utah Code 41-6a-530, it is a class B misdemeanor, just like an original […]

  • No Work Permits during a Utah DUI Driver License Suspension Period

    The most common question I get from people is can I get a permit to drive to and from work while my driver license is suspended?  The answer is an emphatically NO at this time.  Utah, as the law is now, there is no work permits that would allow you to drive to and from […]

  • Utah DUI Survival Guide: A Citizen’s Protection Manual

     If you live a life style of going to a club or bar, even occasionally, you need to read this book.  I authored this book with nationwide known attorney’s Bruce Edge and John Hunsucker.  The people who have read it has told me that “anyone who drinks alcohol needs to read this book.” The book […]

  • Utah DUI and Bail Bonds

     When a person is arrested in Utah for DUI and taken to jail, many things can happen.  A person can be ordered bail, usually in the range of $1500 to $2500 depending on additional charges for a first offense, or sometimes they are released on their own recognizance (meaning the jail has determined the person […]

  • Utah DUI and SR22 Insurance

    There is an incorrect assumption out there that if you get a DUI, you are required to carry SR22 high risk insurance.  NOT TRUE.  Utah did not jump on that bandwagon, yet!  SR22 Insurance is only required in the state of Utah if a person is convicted of not having insurance.  Guest Blogger Dave B.G. […]

  • Get a DUI In Utah for Sleeping in Your Car

     On August 11, 2011, the Utah Court of Appeals affirmed the conviction of a man who did the right thing.  He felt he was too intoxicated to drive safely, so he pulled over and went to sleep.  The Court recited some of the facts as:  "On July 27, 2007, at about 2:30 a.m., Officer Salvador […]